Menu Contact
Holley, Rosen & Beard, LLC
Get A Free Initial Consultation
Phone 217-280-4984
Toll Free 877-671-5884

Blog

The cost of driver's license revocation in Illinois

Driving while under the influence in Illinois can result in some very serious consequences. DUI changes are not limited to alcohol, but also marijuana, hard drugs and prescription drugs. The state laws regarding DUIs are set up to combat driving while impaired, regardless of the intoxicant. Additionally, if you are charged with a DUI, you fail a chemical test, or you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be revoked for a period of time. The temporary loss of a license may seem like a high cost, but getting it back may cost you even more.

First Offense

If you are pulled over by a police officer because they suspect you are driving under the influence, you may be subject to a chemical test. This test picks up traces of intoxicants that may be lingering in your system. If you take this test and fail, your license will be revoked for 6 months. If you refuse to take the chemical test, your license will be revoked for 12 months.

Despite no longer having a valid driver's license, you will be provided with a receipt that will allow you to legally drive for 45 days. This 45-day period is intended to give you ample time to challenge the suspension of your license. After this 45-day period is up, your receipt will expire and you will be legally unable to drive. However, this is not the only cost. To reinstate your license after your first offense, you will have to pay a $500 reinstatement fee and will be required to pass the driving license test again. There is also a minimum fine of $1000.

Second Offense

The same potential penalties associated with chemical tests still apply for the second offense, but in addition to the revocation of your license, you will be required to attend a mandatory hearing, for which the fee is $50. You will then have to pay the same $500 license reinstatement fee for your current license or a $30 fee for a new license, in addition to any fines.

Subsequent Offenses

If you are found guilty of DUIs after your second charge, you will also have to attend the mandatory hearing (a $50 fee). You may also be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). This is a device that will measure your blood alcohol level before allowing you to start your vehicle and it will prevent you from starting it if it finds any alcohol in your system at all. You will be charged for the installation of the device in your vehicle ($85), a monthly rental fee ($80), and a monthly monitoring fee ($30).

These are just some of the financial penalties associated with a DUI charge in Illinois, but there are many other penalties such as jail time that have an emotional cost that is potentially equal to or higher than the financial charges. The state of Illinois has released a DUI guide that may answer additional question. If you have more in depth questions or are potentially facing DUI charges, you should contact a legal professional who is experiences in the subject.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
10 Best 2015 | Client Satisfaction | American Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers Lexis Nexis| Martindale Hubbell | Peer Review Rated | For Ethical Standrads and Legal Ability Lexis Nexis| Martindale Hubbell | Peer Review Rated | For Ethical Standrads and Legal Ability Nationally Ranked | Superior DUI Attorney | By the nafdd | 2014 Nationally Ranked | Superior DUI Attorney | By the nafdd | 2013 American Association of | Premier DUI | Attorneys Founding Member
Email Us For A Response

Get a Free Initial Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy