What to know about Illinois’ distracted driving lawsRequest a Free Consultation
Illinois, like several other states in 2019, implemented a new distracted driving law looking to hold motorists accountable for their actions behind the wheel.
According to the Illinois Tollway, more than 11,000 distracted driving crashes occurred in the state between 2013-2017, with 79 of those crashes being fatal. Illinois was also rated as the tenth worst for distracted driving back in 2018.
Uptick in penalties
The policy increases penalties for those who are found guilty of not paying attention to the road. If a distracted driver is responsible for a crash that resulted in serious injury, they could face up to one year in prison. If the collision was fatal, they could face up to three years.
For those who are pulled over for cellphone use, the first offense could result in a $75-$100 fine. A second offense is $125 and a third offense is $150. Drivers could also risk losing their licenses if they receive multiple violations within one year.
Decreasing the risk
This is how Illinois motorists can decrease their chances of violating the new rule:
- Turn off their cellphones while on the road.
- Ask their passenger to make a call for them or do any other task that could otherwise distract them.
- Pull off the road to a safe area if they need to use their phone.
- Put information into their GPS before starting the vehicle.
- Avoid consuming food or beverages while on the road.
Distracted driving crashes can cause distress
People who have been in a wreck involving a distracted driver know the pain and suffering it can create for them and their loved ones. For those who have been severely injured in a distracted driving collision, an experienced personal injury attorney in Illinois can help take their case to court and get them the compensation they deserve.