What are the penalities for a DUI in IllinoisRequest a Free Consultation
Illinois has some steep penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or DUI. These penalties differ depending on what your blood alcohol level is at the time.
There are two blood alcohol levels, each with a different severity. If you have a blood alcohol of 0.01 or greater, the courts will prosecute you under the Zero Tolerance Law. If your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or greater, the courts will proceed with a DUI conviction.
You will lose your license for a year. Refusing a test will result in harsher penalties. You could also receive up to a year in prison and at least a $2,500 fine.
You will lose your license for five years unless you refuse the test. In which case, the penalties can be considerably more. The fine is an additional $2,500.
You will also be in jail for at least 48 hours or receive community service if your second offense is within five years of your first.
When you receive your third DUI conviction, it is a felony, and you will lose your license for a minimum of 10 years with the possibility of going to prison for three to five years. At this point, the fines can reach up to $25,000.
These penalties are at the judge’s discretion. Depending on the circumstance, they might impose a greater or lesser penalty. You can also face penalties like community service, deterrent devices, driver improvement and drug and alcohol rehabilitation.
If the courts convict you, the judgments gradually increase depending on the severity of your DUI and how many times you’ve had one. The more often you go to court for a DUI, the worse the penalties get.