Seat Belt Laws in IllinoisRequest a Free Consultation
Wearing a seat belt is not only one way to protect your life, but it can also be one of the most important rules to follow to avoid facing a ticket. If you are unsure of the seat belt laws in Illinois, now is a good time to learn about them. The Springfield criminal defense attorney at Holley Rosen & Beard Attorneys at Law can help you navigate what it does if you violate these laws.
What Are the State of Illinois Seat Belt Laws?
The Illinois Department of Transportation shares the most up-to-date information about the state’s seat belt laws. The belief is that wearing a seat belt helps to reduce crash-related injuries significantly, and it reports that it can reduce the injuries and death of people by about half simply to wear a seat belt. Knowing this, you may wish to wear your seat belt just to protect yourself. However, you also should know the laws related to wearing them:
Under Illinois law, all drivers, as well as front and back seat passengers over the age of 8, must wear a seat belt. This is the case even if the vehicle has airbags. Any child that is under the age of 8 must be secured within a child restraint system, such as a car seat, that fits their age and weight. The rules for children fall under the Child Passenger Protection Act.
What if you have a medical condition or another reason that makes it hard for you to wear a seat belt? There are some situations where this may occur, such as due to a disability. However, even if you cannot put on your seat belt, the driver of the vehicle is held responsible for doing so and ensuring that the belt is adjusted properly to fit your needs.
What Happens If You Violate These Laws?
There are situations where you may be pulled over for reckless driving, especially if a child under the age of 8 is not restrained in the vehicle. If you violate the seat belt law for adults, there is a petty offense charge of $25 you must pay. For violations of the Child Passenger Protection Act in any way, that fine is higher at $75.
If you believe that these fines are unfair or that your situation is not clear, be sure to reach out to an attorney who can offer guidance. Our criminal defense attorney is always available to help you through this type of violation. You may be able to get the charges dropped.
Please keep in mind that buckling up saves lives. Make it a habit for you and any passenger in your vehicle to put your seatbelts on properly each time you get into your vehicle.
Schedule an Appointment with Our Criminal Defense Attorney for Help
For clarification on the seat belt laws in Illinois and on any other criminal charges you may be facing, call Holley Rosen & Beard Attorneys at Law. Allow our legal team to go to work to protect you from the most significant risks to your criminal history. Contact us now to learn more about traffic violations related to seat belts and other mistakes you could have made.